DIGM-223

Brainbank: Keep Calm And…

After leaving the UPS store on 37th St. I walked by a dry cleaners. On the side of their wall written in chalk it said, “Keep calm and dry clean your clothes.” I was annoyed.

This whole “Keep Calm and…” fad is getting to be rather annoying. It was acceptable the first five times it was redone for something else, but now it’s getting to be way too much. An idea can be recycled but so many times before it loses its pizazz.

Why not use something that hasn’t been used a million times? There are many philosophers in the world that have said some great things. Why not reinvent a phrase that isn’t so overused?

I like originality. I hate seeing the same thing over and over again. That goes with everything. I don’t like fads. I don’t follow fashion. I don’t care about what everyone else likes. It’s all about what works for me. I wear what is necessary. I do what I like to do and I don’t do what I don’t want to do. Your opinion is yours and mine is mine. I am not going to pretend to like something I don’t like. And if that means I am going to be different, then so be it.

What is so wrong with being different? Trendsetters were the different ones. Leaders were the different ones. I am not trying to be a trendsetter, but I refuse to be a follower.

Back to this whole “Keep Calm” thing. It needs to go. I am over it. On to the next.

Leave a Reply

