DIGM-223

ThinkerToys: Chapter 13: Lotus Blossom

A. Location
B. Pay
C. Experience
D. Portfolio
E. Interviews
F. Resume
G. Opportunity

A:

  1. Transportation
  2. Time
  3. Living situation
  4. Classes
  5. Home
  6. School
  7. Change
  8. Friends

B.

  1. Bills
  2. Travel
  3. Clothes
  4. Supplies
  5. Savings
  6. Independence
  7. Food
  8. Entertainment

C.

  1. Web
  2. Animation
  3. Mobile
  4. Motion Graphics
  5. Print
  6. Type Setting
  7. Illustration
  8. Product Design

D.

  1. Logos
  2. Typography Examples
  3. Book Design
  4. Flash Examples
  5. Zine
  6. Publication
  7. Freelance
  8. Photoshop/ Illustrator work

E

  1. Practice
  2. Exposure
  3. Interaction
  4. Review
  5. Knowledge of company
  6. Company of fit
  7. Environment
  8. Company Structure

F.

  1. GPA
  2. Relevant coursework
  3. Diversity in design
  4. Work Experience
  5. Freelancing
  6. Honors/Awards
  7. Volunteer
  8. Resume Design

G.

  1. Network
  2. Job Offer
  3. Knowledge
  4. Likes and Dislikes
  5. Understanding the field
  6. Place for improvement
  7. Insight
  8. Enlightenment

I enjoyed this exercise because it allowed me to see all of the many sub categories of the coop process. By singling out different attributes under separate themes, it showed me how each component is its own learning experience for me. It is all very new to me which makes it stressful. But seeing the process broken down in this way makes the process seem less intimidating. I feel as though no matter the outcome, I am going to walk away with more positives than anything else. It also showed me the different combinations of things to look at when selecting a coop. No matter the combination, I will benefit in several different ways. This has also allowed me to see that I should not be so narrow when choosing coops as if one category is more important that another. Each category will benefit me in a different way so I need to consider each one equally. This exercise gave me a bigger outlook on the experience as a whole because there are so many things to look forward to when considering each individual category.

I completed this exercise at work. Because I enjoyed what I was doing, everything just flowed easily. Completing the activity was much quicker than I expected and I did not get distracted because it was so enlightening. The quiet environment and the focus that I had helped this challenge so that I could really explore each category and was mind was clear to do so.

Leave a Reply

