DIGM-223

BrainBank: Your Ballot

Late this afternoon, my phone randomly shut off so I decided to head to the Apple store quickly before class to get it fixed. I am feeling a bit sick so I figured it would make more sense for me to drive there then walk to the shuttle and then walk to the store and walk back in the cold. Driving was a dumb idea. There is nowhere to park. While it only took me a few minutes to get there, it took me about an hour to find parking. As I drove around, I was paying close attention to the sides of the road in order to find space. On one street I glanced over and saw a simple black and white poster. On the top it read: “If you are under the age of 18” while on the bottom it read: “This is your ballot.” In between the text was a simple image of a brick. This poster was the only positive thing I got out of that miserable mission.

An American citizen under the age of 18 cannot legally vote in elections. However, some of the most educated and opinionated citizens who value our political system and are passionate about issues are under the age of 18. These citizens do not have to stay quiet. They can get their voices heard. Many teens volunteer during campaigns. Many inform older citizens about different political issues that communities are facing. Others speak out when people are willing to listen. But people are not always ready to listen, especially if you’re just a kid. Hence the brick. The brick is making a statement. “While I am not old enough to make a final say in what you do, I am going to let you know how I feel about your policies by busting your office windows through.” The message is clear and concise. That person will have no choice but to notice that someone is not happy.

Obviously, this poster is humorous. It was not made to tell  citizens under 18 that if they disagree with something that they should use a brick. But I think it does send the message that although you cannot not actually vote, your voice can be heard, if you make it known.

Leave a Reply

